The merge grid display is customizable to make it easy for you to rapidly work through your duplicate groups.

Sort

  • Field Ordering & Style: You can further customize which fields and the field order that you see in the Merge Preview page. From the merge preview, go to Sort >> Field Ordering & Style.

    A list of all available fields will be listed in order that they display on the preview page. Just beneath the header for the field name column, you can search for a specific field or you can scroll through the list to find a field and re-number important fields that you need to see most and move them up to the top of your preview for viewing. All subsequent fields will automatically be renumbered (shifted down a position). To re-number a field, click the number next to the field you wish to use, and type in the position number you want it to be moved to & tab off.You can also bold important fields by checking the bold checkbox to make them stand out in the preview page.Uncheck the ‘Visible’ option for any fields that are unimportant for field selection purposes that may just be cluttering up your page or if your field list is too large, preventing your filter query from functioning due to Salesforce query limitations. WARNING: Do not hide fields from view that are being used in  filters or that are important to retain for merge. Hidden fields will not be subjected to your default field rule during merge for value selections (including non-master values to override master blank values). The ‘Mark all formula fields visible’ at the bottom of the list can be deselected to hide all formula fields from the preview page. Formula fields inherit values from the master record, and are not subject to field level automation rules, so there is no risk in hiding these fields in bulk if necessary. If you are using a formula field as your master record selection, be sure to keep that field visible to Cloudingo.

Note: Attached objects (notes, campaigns, opportunities, etc.) are represented by icons in the relevant field row. These icons are for informational purposes. When records are merged ALL attached objects from ALL records in the group will become a part of the final merged record to reflect the entire history of that record, regardless of the master chosen.

  • Record Order allows you to customize the order in which the records are displayed, and in some cases which value is chosen for merge. In some instances, if you have more than one non-master record, and you have a field rule configured that applies to more than one record, Cloudingo needs a tiebreaker to determine which record value to choose. The Record Order chosen will serve as the tiebreaker in those cases (using oldest or newest modified date). From the merge preview, click Sort >> Record Order.

Options

  • Collapse Empty Rows: If you would like to hide empty rows (when all records within the group are blank) from view, you can do this under ‘Options’ from the Merge Preview page, and choosing ‘Collapse Empty Rows’. This is helpful if you have a lot of fields configured in Salesforce and would like to make the list you scroll through less cumbersome, enabling Cloudingo to display more data within a single screen.
  • Master Selects Fields: Default master record and field value selections are determined by Automation Rules. When manually merging records, you have total control over the values that get selected. By default, under the ‘Options’ menu from the Merge Preview page, the ‘Master Selects Fields’ option is selected. This means if you change your master record manually, then all selected field values will also get chosen to be the newly selected master record’s values. Unchecking this option will leave the previously chosen master record’s field values selected – only changing the master. Choose Options >> Master Selects Fields to select or deselect this optional setting.
  • Run Master Rule When Record Excluded (Merge only): The merge preview will choose values from ALL records in view based on your automation rules. When manually merging records, you can deselect records from the group to be merged allowing only the selected records to be merged. By default, when you deselect a record for merge or change the master selection, previously selected field values will pull into view for merge from those deselected records. If you want the automation rule to re-run the master portion of your automation rule after you deselect a record (so that the master rule is only being applied to the records you have selected for merge), choose Options >> Run Master Rule When Record Excluded from the merge preview page. This option must be enabled before you deselect a record in the preview page. Once you deselect the record, all automation  rules will be re-evaluated without the deselected record in the mix. This is commonly used if you are deselecting a record that was initially chosen as your master or changing the master record selection.
  • Run Field Rules When Record Excluded: The merge preview will choose values from ALL records in view based on your automation rules. When manually merging records, you can deselect records from the group to be merged allowing only the selected records to be merged. By default, when you deselect a record for merge or change the master selection, previously selected field values will pull into view for merge from those deselected records. If you want the automation rule to re-run the field level automation rules after you deselect a record (so that the default & field rules are only being applied to the records you have selected for merge), choose Options >> Run Field Rules When Record Excluded from the merge preview page. This option must be enabled before you deselect a record in the preview page. Once you deselect the record, all automation  rules will be re-evaluated without the deselected record in the mix.
  • Run Exception Rules When Record Excluded: The merge preview will choose values from ALL records in view based on your automation rules. When manually merging records, you can deselect records from the group to be merged allowing only the selected records to be merged. By default, when you deselect a record for merge or change the master selection, previously selected field values will pull into view for merge from those deselected records. If you want the automation rule to re-run the exclusion portion of your automation rule after you deselect a record (so that the exclusion rule is only being applied to the records you have selected for merge), choose Options >> Run Exception Rules When Record Excluded from the merge preview page. This option must be enabled before you deselect a record in the preview page. Once you deselect the record, all automation  rules will be re-evaluated without the deselected record in the mix.
  • Column Width: You have the ability to set column width (175-200 is recommended if you need to view longer text field values). The column width you set will load every time you go into the preview pages without needing to manually expand the size. This function is useful for times when values or column headers might be long and run beyond the viewable space.
  • Fixed Columns: Set a Fixed Columns count if you want to keep a number of columns visible fixed within the preview page when scrolling to the right in the preview page.
  • Fixed Rows: Set a Fixed Rows count if you want to keep a number of rows visible within the preview page when scrolling up or down in the preview page.

Example for Run Field Rules When Record Excluded:

Groups that loaded initially are pulling in field values from a non-master record because of the automation rule configuration.

Deselect a record from the group that is not intended to be included in the merge, uncheck the ‘Select’ box. When the option ‘Run Field Rules When Record Excluded’ is enabled, it will then re-evaluate the field level automation rules on all remaining selected records (excluding the records deselected for merge).

 

For more information on Manual Merging, please visit our help page here.